FWCD Master Teachers

FWCD Master Teachers
Notes from the Head Achievement/Awards

The 2023 recipients of FWCD Master Teacher Chairs are:

  • Jamie Ringgenberg, Perry and Nancy Lee Bass Distinguished Teaching Chair in Middle School
  • Laurie Brown, Perry and Nancy Lee Bass Distinguished Teaching Chair in Lower School
  • Mike Vincent, Perry and Nancy Lee Bass Distinguished Teaching Chair in Athletics and Physical Education

Originated through the efforts of then Head of School Evan Peterson H’15 in the early 2000s, revamped in 2017 by Bill Arnold ’87 when he was our Director of Strategic Projects, and now coordinated by Chelsy Beninate, Assistant Head of School for Operations, our Endowed Master Teaching Chair designation is the highest distinction given by Fort Worth Country Day to faculty members who have a sustained record of teaching excellence and who have gone through an extensive application process. We have nine total Chairs, all funded through significant donations a number of years ago, and all involving a stipend for the Chair recipient for their three-year tenure. 

FWCD Endowed Master Teaching Chairs are awarded both in recognition of past accomplishments as well as in anticipation of future contributions to programs that promote teaching excellence within the FWCD community. Candidate applicants submit their CV and their education philosophy and participate in an interview with the current chairs. Each confidential nominee this year made a commitment of time and emotion that we acknowledge and appreciate. 

You may also be interested in...

FWCD Master Teachers

Fort Worth Country Day has an institutional commitment to the principles of diversity. In that spirit, the School does not discriminate on the basis of race, religion, creed, color, gender, gender identity, sexual orientation, age, disability or national origin in admissions, the administration of its educational policies, financial aid, athletics, and other School-administered programs.